Four Dragons set for U20s finale


Wales Under-20s men have named their side to face France at Stade Charles-Mathon on Sunday for the final game of the 2023 Under-20 Six Nations (KO 8pm, S4C) - with Dragons RFC quartet Oli Andrew, Dylan Kelleher Griffiths, Che Hope and captain Ryan Woodman all involved. 

Head coach Byron Hayward has rotated his squad and made five changes to the side that lost narrowly to Italy in Treviso last Friday evening.

Dragons wing Andrew returns to the starting line-up in place of Harri Houston with Ospreys midfielder Tom Florence replacing Louie Hennessey at outside centre.

The other change in the backline is Harri Williams coming in for his Scarlets teammate Archie Hughes at halfback.

Up front, both Scarlets hooker Lewis Morgan and Ospreys tighthead prop Louis Fletcher get their first starts replacing Sam Scarfe and Tomas Pritchard respectively.

The odds will be heavily stacked against Wales as they seek to claim a first victory in the championship. France have not lost on home soil to Wales since 2013 but Hayward is confident his side can push them close.

“It was another disappointing result against Italy last time out, but again, there were plenty of positives to come out of that game,” he said.

“There was no shortage of effort from the boys and we still managed to score some good tries with slick play against what was a very dominant pack.

“We expect France to be very similar opposition on Sunday. They are big and physical up front and possess pace in the backs so we will have to be on our toes to keep them at bay.

“We have taken the opportunity to make a few changes by rotating players in positions where we are particularly strong,” said Hayward.

“It’s great for the likes of Lewis Morgan and Louis Fletcher to get their first starts after doing well when they came on against Italy.”

Wales U20s v France, Stade Charles-Mathon, Sunday 19 March (KO 8pm GMT)

15 Cameron Winnett (Cardiff Rugby)

14 Oli Andrew (Dragons Rugby)

13 Tom Florence (Ospreys)

12 Bryn Bradley (Harlequins)

11 Llien Morgan (Ospreys)

10 Dan Edwards (Ospreys)

9 Harri Williams (Scarlets)

1 Dylan Kelleher Griffiths (Dragons Rugby)

2 Lewis Morgan (Scarlets)

3 Louis Fletcher (Ospreys)

4 Liam Edwards (Ospreys)

5 Jonny Green (Harlequins)

6 Ryan Woodman (Dragons Rugby - Capt)

7 Lucus De La Rua (Cardiff Rugby)

8 Morgan Morse (Ospreys)


16 Lewis Lloyd (Ospreys)

17 Freddie Chapman (Ospreys)

18 Tomas Pritchard (Scarlets)

19 Mackenzie Martin (Cardiff Rugby)

20 Gwilym Evans (Cardiff Rugby)

21 Che Hope (Dragons Rugby)

22 Harrison James (Cardiff Rugby)

23 Kian Abraham (Scarlets)

Would you like to be part of our success? FIND OUT MORE
Headline Sponsor
Primary Partners